Dark background with blue accents with light reflectionsDark background with blue accents with light reflectionsDark background with blue accents with light reflections
[Mac OS X] Understanding Time Machine

[Mac OS X] Understanding Time Machine

[Mac OS X] Dealing with Time Machine

In the comments on the previous note, a reader asked the question:

Because the answer to this question is is of interest to many, especially for beginners, acquaintance with OS X, I will answer it in a separate note.

Do exactly as the reader asks, with Time Machine settings > is not possible. But you can do the opposite - exclude everything unnecessary from backups.

And this can be done by going to the Time Machine settings, which are located in System Preferences (images are clickable):

< img src=""/>

Press the Options... button and get the following list:

You can add anything you don't want to see in your backups to this list. To do this, click on the + button (highlighted in red), select and add directories or files excluded from backups to this list.

As you can see in the picture, I have excluded the directory containing Parallels Desktop virtual machine files.

In other words, to achieve exactly what the reader asked, you would need to add to this list all directories whose contents are not needed to you in your backups. 🙂

Good luck!



Read this article in other languages: